Is Grindr Safe?

Luca Davis
4 min readJun 12, 2021

--

Answer: Depends on how you use it…

What is Grindr?

Grindr is an app that is widely used in the LGBTQ+ community, with over 40,000 reviews on the Apple app store. Grindr is often used for networking, chatting, hooking up, dating, and friends.

Often people will download the app and then delete it and download it and then delete it, you get the point. Although many people in the LGBTQ+ community use Grindr there is a stigma that those that use Grindr are sleezy. It is almost taboo to talk about Grindr in the LGBTQ+ community. While many guys on Grindr are looking to hook up, this unhealthy stigma discourages guys from exploring their sexuality and new sexual experiences.

My experience with Grindr

Although I grew up in a welcoming environment, I was still afraid to come out growing up. I did not end up coming out until I was out of high school, you can hear my coming out story here. Being in the closet it was extremely hard to date as I was always afraid that someone, I knew would see me and out me. Hooking up with guys in the private of their homes (or the car) was the only way I could express and explore my sexuality. Grindr provided a way to express my sexuality and meet other guys like me, some closeted and others out. I learned so much and from these moments with different guys taught me so much about myself and the gay community.

Who uses Grindr?

Diverse people from all walks of life use Grindr, I would say though that it is predominately used by guys that identify as gay or bisexual. There is often a prejudice on the app for those that are cis, but I have seen transgender people use the app although I have never spoken to them about their experience. Below I will go over the different steps of using the app and my suggestions on how to use the app is a safe way.

Creating a profile

The first step is to download the app. You may hesitate, but don’t worry this app is made by a legitimate company and has been dowloaded by many many people. Once downloaded it’s time to create a profile. When creating a profile there are many things to consider. The first thing is the picture, I personally choose to not have a profile photo that way I can choose who I send my identity to. Next you will put a description, I choose to describe myself a bit here and what I am looking for. The next thing is to put a bit more information about you like height, weight, ethnicity, and what you are looking for. Try to be accurate here, you don’t want to be seen as a catfish and this also helps other guys find you through the filter.

Finding Guys

After you create your profile it’s time to find guys! On the right side you will see a filter which you can use to find guys that fit what you are looking for. This feature can be really helpful and a great safe way to identify what you want. I would suggest looking for guys that fit your profile, so you are not surprised, for example if you are just looking for friends choose that filter or let’s say you want to have sex choose the right now filter. Using the filter option for age can also be another way to find guys that you want to talk to. I prefer to talk to guys around my age for a variety of reasons but mainly to stay safe. I feel better meeting up with another college boy then an older man, although there is nothing wrong or less sexy about an older man, just not my type.

Chatting with Guys

Once you find a guy that you like, and you have done your research you can send a message to any guy on the app. The first thing is to introduce yourself and ask for their name. Not only does this humanize the person but it is also a respectful way to interact. Ask how the person is doing, you might be surprised by their answer and this gives you a good first gage at whether they are in a healthy spot. Talk sexy things if you would like, that can be hot. Once you know you want to hook up with them check their profile to ensure they match what you are looking for, then ask for pictures. Be sure to send pictures too if you are comfy. Ensure the photos match their profile and then maybe ask for a video with their face, this is a great way to safely see if they are who they say they are. You can also ask for them to send a photo doing a movement like with a peace sign as another measure. Talk about what you want to do so you are not surprised. You can ask when they were last tested to make sure they are clean. When you are ready to meet up ask for their location or you can send yours.

Meeting up with Guys

When you know where you are going and are ready to meet up, you can tell a friend where you are going if you are comfy doing that. When you get there or when they get to your place meet outside, this is to make sure you can see if they said who they were and leave if need be. Once you meet up spark a conversation, don’t make it awkward you are both just two horny guys. Lastly, have protected sex!

To sum it up…

Grindr can be a great way to explore your sexuality and you should never feel ashamed, just ensure whatever you do you do it in a safe way, (yes this also means safe sex).

--

--